# HARDIN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MINUTES – MAY 15, 2023 MONDAY – 9:00 A.M. HARDIN COUNTY COURTHOUSE LARGE CONFERENCE ROOM

The Hardin County Board of Supervisors held their regular meeting at 9:00 AM on May 15, 2023, at the Hardin County Courthouse large conference room in Eldora, Iowa.

Board members in attendance were BJ Hoffman, Lance Granzow, and Renee McClellan. Also attending were Dave McDaniel, Darrell Meyer, Taylor Roll, Deb Crosser, Lori Kadner, Ann Larson, Carey Calloway, Elaine Loring, Donna Juber, and Julie Duhn.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded to approve the agenda. All Ayes. Motion passed.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded to approve the minutes of May 8, 2023. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the claims for payment for May 15, 2023. All Ayes. Motion passed.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to approve the Utility Permit UT-23-013 for Windstream Iowa Communications, LLC. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the Utility Permit UT-23-014 for Alliant Energy. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the Class C Retail Alcohol License application for Pine Lake Country Club. All Ayes. Motion passed.

McClellan moved and Hoffman seconded the motion to approve the Cost Advisory Services, Inc. contract for FY2023, 2024, and 2025. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve Resolution 2023-16, Resolution to Approve Tax Abatements for Abandoned Properties. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed. Resolution 2023-16 is hereby adopted as follows:

## **RESOLUTION: 2023-16**

### TAX ABATEMENT

Pursuant to Chapter 657A, the net property taxes, all interest, fees, and costs for years 2019 to 2021 are abated and the 210058 tax sale certificate is cancelled, on the property locally know as 322 Talbott, City of Iowa Falls, Parcel number 892018306001. Passed and adopted this 15<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2023. The full text of the resolution is available at the Office of the Hardin County Auditor.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve Resolution 2023-17, Resolution to Approve Tax Abatements for Abandoned Properties. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan, Hoffman. "Nays" None. Absent: None. Motion passed. Resolution 2023-17 is hereby adopted as follows:

# **RESOLUTION: 2023-17**

### TAX ABATEMENT

Pursuant to Chapter 657A, the net property taxes, all interest, fees, and costs for years 2019 to 2021 are abated and the 210058 tax sale certificate is cancelled, on the property locally know as 209 Estes, City of Iowa Falls, Parcel number 892018306004. The full text of the resolution is available at the Office of the Hardin County Auditor.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the change of status for the Sheriff Department for the resignation of Lance Lemke. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the change of status for the Sheriff Department for the resignation of Jennifer Kappel. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the change of status for the Sheriff Department for the resignation of Cheyanne Neely. All Ayes. Motion passed.

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to approve the change of status for the Sheriff Department for the hiring of Reid Schaffer. All Ayes. Motion passed.

In other business, Engineer Taylor Roll stated that they are working on the Engineer's building roof and weed spraying has started and dust control has started in the county.

Public Comments: Julie Duhn and emailed question regarding the Drainage meetings..

Hoffman moved and McClellan seconded the motion to adjourn the meeting. All Ayes. Motion passed. The meeting was adjourned at 9:11 a.m.

/s/ Lance Granzow Lance Granzow, Chair or Vice-Chair Board of Supervisors /s/ Jolene Pieters
Jolene Pieters
Hardin County Auditor